people

MLK Day Celebration

 

Diane Fujino
Director
Email: fujino@asamst.ucsb.edu

Rosa Pinter
Business Officer
Email: rpinter@cbs.ucsb.edu

Rose Elfman
Managing Editor for Publications
(Journal of Haitian Studies and Kalfou)
Email: relfman@cbs.ucsb.edu

Nadège T. Clitandre
Haitian Studies Coordinator
Email: nclitandre@global.ucsb.edu

Sojourner Kincaid Rolle
Cultural & Community Affairs Coordinator
Email: skrolle@cbs.ucsb.edu

Jannie Scott
Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: jannie.scott@ucsb.edu

Jonathan Gomez
Graduate Student Researcher
Email: jdgomez@umail.ucsb.edu

Dena Montague
Research Associate
Email: dena.montague@ucsb.edu

Ashley Baker
Undergraduate Student Assistant

Mariah Boyd
Undergraduate Student Assistant

Brianna Gomez
Undergraduate Student Assistant

Jordan Mitchell
Undergraduate Student Assistant

Unique Vance
Undergraduate Student Assistant


2013-2014
Advisory Committee

ADVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIR:

George Lipsitz, Professor, Black Studies and Sociology


ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Ingrid Banks, Associate Professor, Black Studies

Eileen Boris, Chair and Professor, Feminist Studies

Julie Carlson, Professor, English

Nadège Clitandre, Assistant Professor, Global and International Studies

Anna Everett, Professor, Film and Media Studies

Diane Fujino (Ex-Officio), Director, Center for Black Studies Research and Professor, Asian American Studies

Gaye Johnson, Associate Professor, Department of Black Studies

Aaron Jones, Assistant Director for Community Affairs, Associated Students

Carl Gutiérrez-Jones, Professor, English Department

Esther Lezra, Assistant Professor, Global and International Studies

Chris McAuley, Associate Professor, Black Studies

Claudine Michel, Professor, Black Studies and Assistant Vice-Chancellor, Student Academic Programs

Charles Nicholson, M.D., Community Member

Victor Rios, Associate Professor, Sociology Department

Sojourner Kincaid Rolle (Ex-Officio), Community Outreach, Center for Black Studies Research

Chela Sandoval, Associate Professor, Chicana/Chicano Studies

Howard Winant, Professor, Sociology Department and Director, Center for New Racial Studies

Chryss Yost, Student Affairs and Santa Barbara's Poet Laureate

 

 

Center News

In keeping with the UC Office of the President policy for Organized Research Units (ORUs), the Director of the Center for Black Studies is aided by a standing Advisory Committee Board, chaired by a faculty member other than the Director. The Committee participates actively in setting the Center’s goals and critically evaluating its effectiveness on a continuing basis.

The Center has been extremely fortunate in having so many committed and supportive individuals on its Advisory Committee.

Additional Links

Black Studies Newsletter

Annual Reports

Press Links

Archives

Department of Black Studies

Office of Research

Division of
Social Science