

# Research Division Advisory Committees 2019-2020

#### Chicano Studies Institute

Mateo Carrillo, History
D. Ines Casillas, Chicana/o Studies
Andres Consoli, Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology
Aida Hurtado, Chicana/o Studies
Dana Mastro, Communication

# Melissa Morgan Consoli, Committee Chair, Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology

Mark Shishim, Student Affairs Academic

#### Ex-Officio Members:

TBD, Director, Chicano Studies Institute Mario Castellanos, Office of Education Partnerships Sharon Tettegah, Center for Black Studies Research

#### **Center for Black Studies Research**

Marian Bankins, Housing Ingrid Banks, Department of Black Studies Vilna Bashi-Treitler, Department of Black Studies Eileen Boris, Department of Feminist Studies Toks Fashola, American University James Frew, Environmental Science Devona Hawkins, External Member Anne Charity Hudley, Linguistics Greg Jones, External Member Ken Kosik, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology Marcus Mathis, Admissions Christopher McAuley, Black Studies Mireille Miller-Young, Feminist Studies Helen Neville, Committee Chair, External Member Sharon Solis, Center for Scientific Computing Andrea Stith, Office of Research Terrance Wooten, Department of Black Studies

### Ex-Officio Members:

Rosa Pinter, Business Officer, Center for Black Studies Research Sharon Tettegah, Director, Center for Black Studies Research



#### Earth Research Institute

Timothy DeVries, Geography
Robin Matoza, Earth Science
John Melack, Committee Chair, Bren School
Robert Miller, Earth Research Institute/Marine Science Institute

Roberta Rudnick, Committee Chair, Earth Science
Joshua Schimel, Environmental Studies

Katja Seltmann, Cheadle Center for Biodiversity & Ecological Restoration

#### Ex-Officio Members:

Kelly Caylor, Director, Earth Research Institute
Michael Colee, Director of Computing, Earth Research Institute
Susannah Porter, Associate Director, Earth Research Institute
Kathy Scheidemen, Management Services Officer, Earth Research Institute

## Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research

Paul Amar, Global & International Studies
Mark Buntaine, Bren School
Norah Dunbar, Communication
Diane Fujino, Asian American Studies
Claudine Michel, Black Studies (Emerita)
Laury Oaks, Committee Chair, Feminist Studies
Heather Royer, Economics
Paul Spickard, History
Heather Stoll, Political Science

#### Ex-Officio Members:

Claudia Diaz, Business Officer, Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research

Charles Hale, Dean, Social Sciences

Stuart Smith, Director, Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research Barbara Walker, Director of Research Development Social Sciences, Office of Research



### Marine Science Institute

Jennifer Dugan, Marine Science Institute
Erika Eliason, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Adam Lambert, Marine Science Institute
Lauren Lisiecki, Earth Science
Holly Moller, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Russell Schmitt, Committee Chair, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Alyson Santoro, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
David Siegel, Geography
Mark Torchin, Marine Science Institute

#### Ex-Officio Members:

Mark Brzezinski, Director, Marine Science Institute
Trish Holden, Director, Natural Reserve System
Charles Lester, Coastal Policy Director, Marine Science Institute
Daniel Morse, Marine Biotech Center Director, Molecular, Cellular &
Developmental Biology
Dan Reed, Deputy Director, Marine Science Institute
Luisa Velez, Budget Unit Manager, Marine Science Institute

#### Neuroscience Research Institute

Mark Brzezinski, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Steve Fisher, Neuroscience Research Institute
Thomas Harriman, Community Member
Emily Jacobs, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Matthieu Louis, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Craig Montell, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Denise Montell, Committee Chair, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Spencer LaVere Smith, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Megan Valentine, Mechanical Engineering

#### Ex-Officio Members:

Stuart Feinstein, Co-Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Kenneth Kosik, Co-Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Benjamin Lopez, Microscopy Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Theresa Peña, Business Officer, Neuroscience Research Institute

#### **UCSB Natural Reserve System**

Peter Alagona, Valentine Eastern Sierra Reserve Faculty Representative; Environmental Studies

Carla D'Antonio, Sedgwick Reserve Faculty Representative, Environmental Studies

Frank Davis, Center Director, La Kretz Research, Bren School Jim Frew, Kenneth S. Norris Rancho Marino Reserve Faculty Representative, Bren School

Lynn Gamble, Santa Cruz Island Reserve Representative, Anthropology Sally Holbrook, Committee Chair, Santa Cruz Island Reserve Faculty Advisor,

**EEMB**Chandra Krintz, Sedgwick Reserve Faculty Advisor, Computer Science
John Melack, Valentine Eastern Sierra Reserve Faculty Advisor, EEMB Hank
Pitcher, Coal Oil Point Reserve Faculty Representative, College of Creative

Studies

Dar Roberts, Carpinteria Salt Marsh, Faculty Representative; Geography Alex Simms, Coal Oil Point Reserve, Faculty Representative, Geography Hillary Young, Carpinteria Salt Marsh Reserve, EEMB

#### **Ex-Officio Members**

Patricia Holden, NRS Director, Bren School Marion Wittmann, NRS Executive Director

#### Community Representatives

Chet Work, Executive Director, Land Trust of Santa Barbara County John Randall, Santa Cruz Island Project Director, The Nature Conservancy

#### **UCSB Student Representatives**

Lauren Enright - Undergraduate Representative, Associated Students TBN – Graduate Student Representative Associated Students



## National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis

# Cherie Briggs, Committee Chair, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

Kelly Caylor, Geography, Bren Krzysztof Janowicz, Geography Kyle Lewis, Technology Management Program Marko Peljhan, Media Arts and Technology Leah Stokes, Political Science

Rich Wolski, Computer Science

### **Ex-Officio Members:**

Ben Halpern, Director, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis Julia Niessen, Busienss Officer, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis