

Research Division Advisory Committees 2020-2021

Chicano Studies Institute

Dana Mastro, Committee Chair, Communication

Melissa Morgan, Counseling, Clinical, & School Psychology Daina Sanchez, Chicana/o Studies Mark Shishim, Student Affairs Academic

Ex-Officio Members:

D. Inés Casillas, Director, Chicano Studies Institute Mario Castellanos, Office of Education Partnerships Aida Hurtado, Chicana/o Studies Sharon Tettegah, Center for Black Studies Research

Center for Black Studies Research

Marian Bankins, Housing
Ingrid Banks, Department of Black Studies
Tony Baylis, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Eileen Boris, Department of Feminist Studies
Ken Kosik, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Marcus Mathis, Admissions
Helen Neville, Committee Chair, External Member
Sharon Solis, Computer Science
Lisa Stewart, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
Andrea Stith, Office of Research

Terrance Wooten, Department of Black Studies

Ex-Officio Members:

Sharon Tettegah, Director, Center for Black Studies Research



Earth Research Institute

Timothy DeVries, Geography
Robin Matoza, Earth Science
John Melack, Bren School
Robert Miller, Earth Research Institute/Marine Science Institute
Roberta Rudnick, Committee Chair, Earth Science
Joshua Schimel, Environmental Studies

Katja Seltmann, Cheadle Center for Biodiversity & Ecological Restoration

Ex-Officio Members:

Kelly Caylor, Director, Earth Research Institute
Michael Colee, Director of Computing, Earth Research Institute
Susannah Porter, Associate Director, Earth Research Institute
Cecilia Sousa, Management Services Officer, Earth Research Institute

Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research

Amit Ahuja, Political Science
Paul Amar, Global & International Studies
Jean Beaman, Sociology
Mark Buntaine, Bren School
Diane Fujino, Asian American Studies
Miriam Metzger, Committee Chair, Communication

Claudine Michel, Black Studies (Emerita) Laury Oaks, Feminist Studies Heather Royer, Economics Paul Spickard, History

Ex-Officio Members:

Claudia Diaz, Business Officer, Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research

Charles Hale, Dean, Social Sciences

Stuart Smith, Director, Institute for Social, Behavioral, & Economic Research Barbara Walker, Director of Research Development Social Sciences, Office of Research



Marine Science Institute

Darcy Bradley, Bren School of Environmental Science & Management **Jenn Caselle, Committee Chair, Marine Science Institute**Anthony De Tomaso, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Jennifer Dugan, Marine Science Institute

Erika Eliason, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

Adam Lambert, Marine Science Institute

Holly Moeller, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

Nick Nidzieko, Geography

Alyson Santoro, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

William Smith, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Mark Torchin, Marine Science Institute

Ex-Officio Members:

Gretchen Hofmann, Interim Director, Marine Science Institute Charles Lester, Ocean and Coastal Policy Center Director, Marine Science Institute

Russell Schmitt, Coastal Research Center Director, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology

Carolyn Sheehan, Management Services Officer, Marine Science Institute

Neuroscience Research Institute

Mark Brzezinski, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology
Steve Fisher, Neuroscience Research Institute
Thomas Harriman, Community Member
Emily Jacobs, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Matthieu Louis, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Craig Montell, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Denise Montell, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology
Spencer LaVere Smith, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Megan Valentine, Committee Chair, Mechanical Engineering

Ex-Officio Members:

Stuart Feinstein, Co-Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Kenneth Kosik, Co-Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Benjamin Lopez, Microscopy Director, Neuroscience Research Institute Julia Niessen, Business Officer, Neuroscience Research Institute



UCSB Natural Reserve System

Peter Alagona, Valentine Eastern Sierra Reserve Faculty Representative; Environmental Studies

Carla D'Antonio, Sedgwick Reserve Faculty Representative, Environmental Studies

Frank Davis, Center Director, La Kretz Research, Bren School Jim Frew, Kenneth S. Norris Rancho Marino Reserve Faculty Representative, Bren School

Lynn Gamble, Santa Cruz Island Reserve Representative, Anthropology Meredith Hendricks, Land Trust for Santa Barbara County

Sally Holbrook, Committee Chair, Santa Cruz Island Reserve Faculty Advisor, EEMB

Chandra Krintz, Sedgwick Reserve Faculty Advisor, Computer Science John Melack, Valentine Eastern Sierra Reserve Faculty Advisor, EEMB Hank Pitcher, Coal Oil Point Reserve Faculty Representative, College of Creative Studies

Dar Roberts, Carpinteria Salt Marsh, Faculty Representative; Geography Alex Simms, Coal Oil Point Reserve, Faculty Representative, Earth Science Hillary Young, Carpinteria Salt Marsh Reserve, EEMB

Ex-Officio Members

Patricia Holden, NRS Director, Bren School Marion Wittmann, NRS Executive Director

Community Representatives

Meredith Hendricks, Executive Director, Land Trust of Santa Barbara County John Randall, Santa Cruz Island Project Director, The Nature Conservancy

UCSB Student Representatives

Caroline Owens, Graduate Student Association
Jeremy Francoeur - Undergraduate Representative, Associated Students
TBN – Graduate Student Representative Associated Students



National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis

Kelly Caylor, Committee Chair, Geography, Bren

Gretchen Hofmann, Ecology, Evolution, and Marine Biology Krzysztof Janowicz, Geography Marko Peljhan, Media Arts and Technology Leah Stokes, Political Science Rich Wolski, Computer Science Kim Yasuda, Art

Ex-Officio Members:

Ben Halpern, Director, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis

California NanoSystems Institute

M. Ofelia Aguirre Paden, California NanoSystems Institute Frank Brown, Chemistry and Biochemistry Michael Chabinyc, Materials Brad Chmelka, Chemical Engineering

Ania Jayich, Committee Chair, Physics

Kyle Lewis, Technology Management Program
Bolin Liao, Mechanical Engineering
Sherylle Mills-Engalander, Technology and Industry Alliances
Craig Montell, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Michelle O'Malley, Chemical Engineering
Beth Pruitt, Mechanical Engineering
Ram Seshadri, Materials
Andrea Stith, Office of Research
Yon Visell, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Andrea Young, Physics

Ex-Officio Members:

Craig Hawker, Director, California NanoSystems Institute