Sponsored Projects Team Assignments

Most departments and research units that submit grants are assigned a Sponsored Projects team consisting of an officer and an analyst. These teams work with the department or unit's contract and grant liaison to submit proposals and manage awards.

Not all academic departments have the staff to submit proposals and will instead submit through an affiliated research unit. Principal Investigators may have a choice whether to submit a proposal through their home department or through affiliated research units. 

If you do not see your home department listed, please email proposals@research.ucsb.edu.

Sponsored Projects Officers

  • Responsible for reviewing and endorsing all non-Research Terms and Conditions proposals
  • Responsible for negotiating and executing all contracts and non-Research Terms and Conditions grants (including incoming subawards)
  • Oversee award administration

Sponsored Projects Analysts

  • Ensure timely receipt, analysis, review, processing and submission of proposals for extramurally funded projects
  • Responsible for reviewing and submitting grant proposals to Research Terms and Conditions sponsors
  • Responsible for executing all grants issued under the Research Terms and Conditions (RTC) and post-award transactions
  • Initial review of all non-RTC awards
  • Primary contact for proposal and award status


Proposal submission units Officer Analyst
Arts and Lectures (ALEC) Corrin Terrones Sarah Payne
Bioengineering (BENG) Kelly Musselman Sarah Payne
Bren School of Environmental Science & Management (ESMS) Megan Ober Sarah Payne
California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI) Kelly Musselman Alexis Wright
Campus Sustainability (CSUS) Corrin Terrones Meagan Roa
Center for Black Studies Research (CBLS) Betsy Lazarine Meagan Roa
Center for Polymers and Organic Solids (CPOS) Betsy Lazarine Kayla Villarreal
Center for Bio & Ecological Restoration (CBER) Corrin Terrones Sarah Payne
Chemical Engineering (CHNE) Kelly Musselman Alexis Wright
Chemistry and Biochemistry (CHEM) Betsy Lazarine Alexis Wright
Chicano Studies Institute (CCHS) Kevin Loza Meagan Roa
Computer Science (COMS) Megan Ober Kayla Villarreal

Earth Research Institute (ERTH)

Megan Ober Kayla Villarreal
Education Abroad Program - campus (EAPC) Corrin Terrones Sarah Payne
UC Education Abroad Program - systemwide (EAPQ) Megan Ober Sarah Payne
Electrical and Computer Engineering (ELEG) Megan Ober Sarah Payne
Geography (GEOG) Kelly Musselman Meagan Roa
Gevirtz Graduate School of Education (GSER) Kevin Loza Alexis Wright
Graduate Division (GRAD) Betsy Lazarine Sarah Payne
Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies (ICBT) Daniela Gallardo Clarissa Cabrera
Institute for Energy Efficiency (INEE) Kelly Musselman Alexis Wright
Institute for Social, Behavioral, and Economic Research (ISBE) Daniela Gallardo Clarissa Cabrera
Institute for Terahertz Science and Technology (QUAN) Betsy Lazarine Meagan Roa
Interdisciplinary Humanities Center (HMCT) Kevin Loza Clarissa Cabrera
Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics (ITPH) Betsy Lazarine Alexis Wright
Library (LIBR) Betsy Lazarine Alexis Wright
Marine Science Institute (MSII) Corrin Terrones Meagan Roa
Materials (ENMT) Kelly Musselman Clarissa Cabrera
Materials Research Laboratory (MTRL) Kevin Loza Alexis Wright
Mathematics (MATH) Betsy Lazarine Kayla Villarreal
Mechanical Engineering (MECE) Kevin Loza Sarah Payne
Mitsubishi Chemical Center for Advanced Materials (MCAM) Corrin Terrones Clarissa Cabrera
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) Kelly Musselman Alexis Wright
Natural Reserve System (NRSS) Corrin Terrones Sarah Payne
National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEA) Kevin Loza Alexis Wright
Neuroscience Research Institute (NRII) Kevin Loza Clarissa Cabrera
Physics (PHYS) Betsy Lazarine Meagan Roa
Psychological and Brain Sciences (PSYC) Betsy Lazarine Meagan Roa
Statistics and Applied Probability (SAPP) Betsy Lazarine Clarissa Cabrera
Student Health Service (STHL) Daniela Gallardo Clarissa Cabrera
Technology Management Program (TECH) Corrin Terrones Clarissa Cabrera
University Children's Center (CHLD) Corrin Terrones Alexis Wright