Sponsored Projects Team Assignments

Most departments and research units that submit grants are assigned a Sponsored Projects team consisting of an officer and an analyst. These teams work with the department or unit's contract and grant liaison to submit proposals and manage awards.

Not all academic departments have the staff to submit proposals and will instead submit through an affiliated research unit. Principal Investigators may have a choice whether to submit a proposal through their home department or through affiliated research units. 

If you do not see your home department listed, please email proposals@research.ucsb.edu.

Sponsored Projects Officers

  • Responsible for reviewing and endorsing all non-Research Terms and Conditions proposals
  • Responsible for negotiating and executing all contracts and non-Research Terms and Conditions grants (including incoming subawards)
  • Oversee award administration

Sponsored Projects Analysts

  • Ensure timely receipt, analysis, review, processing and submission of proposals for extramurally funded projects
  • Responsible for reviewing and submitting grant proposals to Research Terms and Conditions sponsors
  • Responsible for executing all grants issued under the Research Terms and Conditions (RTC) and post-award transactions
  • Initial review of all non-RTC awards
  • Primary contact for proposal and award status


Proposal submission units Officer Analyst
Arts and Lectures (ALEC) Hilda Vasquez Kyle Hekhuis
California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI) Hilda Vasquez Kevin Loza
Center for Polymers and Organic Solids (CPOS) Melissa Waver Kyle Hekhuis
Chemical Engineering (CHNE) Betsy Lazarine Kyle Hekhuis
Chemistry and Biochemistry (CHEM) Jenny Chavira Kyle Hekhuis
Chicano Studies Institute (CCHS) Hilda Vasquez Kevin Loza
Computer Science (COMS) Melissa Waver Clarissa Cabrera
Earth Research Institute (ERTH) Hilda Vasquez Sarah Payne
Electrical and Computer Engineering (ELEG) Jenny Chavira Kevin Loza
Geography (GEOG) Melissa Waver Clarissa Cabrera
Gevirtz Graduate School of Education (GSER) Betsy Lazarine Kyle Hekhuis
Graduate Division (GRAD) Betsy Lazarine Rebecca Eggeman
Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies (ICBT) Daniela Gallardo Clarissa Cabrera
Institute for Energy Efficiency (INEE) Melissa Waver Reese Raffo
Institute for Social, Behavioral, and Economic Research (ISBE) Daniela Gallardo Reese Raffo
Interdisciplinary Humanities Center (HMCT) Hilda Vasquez Kyle Hekhuis
Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics (ITPH) Melissa Waver Kyle Hekhuis
Library (LIBR) Betsy Lazarine Kevin Loza
Marine Science Institute (MSII) Jenny Chavira Rebecca Eggeman
Materials (ENMT) Daniela Gallardo Clarissa Cabrera
Materials Research Laboratory (MTRL) Melissa Waver Rebecca Eggeman
Mathematics (MATH) Betsy Lazarine Kyle Hekhuis
Mechanical Engineering (MECE) Betsy Lazarine Clarissa Cabrera
Mitsubishi Chemical Center for Advanced Materials (MCAM) Hilda Vasquez Kyle Hekhuis
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) Melissa Waver Clarissa Cabrera
National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEA) Hilda Vasquez Reese Raffo
Neuroscience Research Institute (NRII) Melissa Waver Reese Raffo
Physics (PHYS) Betsy Lazarine Rebecca Eggeman
Psychological and Brain Sciences (PSYC) Hilda Vasquez Kyle Hekhuis
Student Health Service (STHL) Daniela Gallardo Reese Raffo
Technology Management Program (TECH) Hilda Vasquez Rebecca Eggeman
University Children's Center (CHLD) Hilda Vasquez Kyle Hekhuis