The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. 

Membership in the National Academy of Sciences is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. 

Members are affiliated with a section (scientific discipline) in one of six Classes:
•    Physical and Mathematical Sciences
•    Biological Sciences
•    Engineering and Applied Sciences
•    Biomedical Sciences
•    Behavioral and Social Sciences
•    Applied Biological, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


Only Academy members may submit formal nominations, and members may not nominate candidates from their home institutions. Consideration of a candidate begins with his or her nomination, followed by an extensive and careful vetting process that results in a final ballot at the Academy's annual meeting in April each year. Currently, a maximum of 120 members may be elected annually. Members must be U.S. citizens; non-citizens are elected as international members, with a maximum of 30 elected annually. 

Additional Information